About F2

Grand Prix

The World Championship Run of the hosting country, with the field of averagely 22-24 drivers representing different countries. The field races on courses of different layout, 2-pin or multi-pin tracks which are generally 1600-2000 m long, varied with right and left handler turns. Boats are lined up on a pontoon and are set going by a dead engine start procedure at once. The total number of laps is approx. 35-40 depending on the length of the course, and lasts for 30 minutes while offering a continuous and exciting racing experience. Safety is guaranteed by the Official Rescue Team that is made up of professional rescue personnel, divers and doctors. The Grand Prix and the whole weekend is supervised by the Officer of the Day (OOD), usually a skilled and experienced Officer of the hosting country’s National Authority for Powerboating.

The World Champions:

  • 2002 Christian Odd Sanne (NOR) racing with DAC boat,
  • 2003 Jonas Andersson (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat
  • 2004 Jonas Andersson (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat, 1 win out of 7 rounds, collecting 88 points
  • 2005 Marc Rolls (GBR) racing with Burgess boat, 1 win out of 3 rounds, collecting 34 points
  • 2006 Colin Jelf (GBR) racing with Molgaard boat, 1 win out of 3 rounds, collecting 35 points
  • 2007 Colin Jelf (GBR) racing with Molgaard boat, 2 wins out of 4 rounds, collecting 62 points
  • 2008 Colin Jelf (GBR) racing with Molgaard boat, 4 runner-ups out of 4 rounds, collecting 60 points
  • 2009 Johan Coenradi (NED) racing  with Molgaard boat, no wins out of 4 rounds, collecting 43 points
  • 2010 Johan Coenradi (NED) racing with DAC boat, 1 win out of 3 rounds, collecting 38 points
  • 2011 Erik Stark (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat, 4 wins out of 4 rounds, collecting 80 points
  • 2012 Erik Stark (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat, 2 wins out of 4 rounds, collecting 67 points
  • 2013 Erik Stark (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat, 3 wins out of 5 rounds, collecting 73 points
  • 2014 Erik Stark (SWE) racing with Molgaard boat, 3 wins out of 4 rounds, collecting 75 points

Match Race

Once the results of Time Trials are published, the first 16 fastest drivers are entitled to attend the Match Race. These drivers are then paired up to race against each other over two laps on a specially designed course. The course comprises of a two buoy short circuit with a third buoy being positioned to form a longer circuit. The driver starting on the left runs the short circuit whilst the one on the right runs the longer one. After completing their first lap they then change track and run on the other circuit this should results in them arriving at the finish-line almost at the same time. The winning driver from each run then progresses through to the quarter and semi-finals and finally to the Grand Final.

Speed Record

The speed record contests are held just before the Match Race. Each of the 16 drivers makes one attempt to post the fastest speed. This takes place on the longest part of the Match Race straight. A time-keeper is positioned on the course near the finish-line with a radar gun measuring the maximum speed of each boat. To set these speeds drivers often use propellers designed specificity for a high top speed. The 3 highest speeds ever measured were set by the following drivers:

  • 1st   Rupert Temper (AUT) GP of Hungary, Dunaujvaros, 2011 June 4th, clocking 188 km/h. (DAC)
  • 2nd Arif Al Zafeen (UAE)  GP of Russia, Dubna,  2004, Sept 4th, clocking 186,3 km/h (Molgaard)
  • 3rd Yousef Al Robayan (KW) GP of Poland, Cichowo, 2011 season, 182 km/h (DAC)



OptiMax 200XS SST

The new race model features a Gen 2 – 2.5 Liter OptiMax powerhead which combines components from the Mercury Racing OptiMax 2.5XS outboard and the current Mercury Racing engineered OptiMax 175 Pro XS outboard.
The 200XS SST won the 1999 & 2000 24 Hours of Rouen endurance powerboat races overall and has won Class 2 competition multiple times. The engine was the power behind Jimmie Merleau’s 2008 ChampBoat Series F-2 United States Championship and began to be used in 2010 in the UIM World F2 Powerboat Championship.
Information from http://www.mercuryracing.com.



Hulls of Formula 2 are the same as for Formula 1 boats and they reach minimum length of 4.8 meters and minimum weight of 513 kg (including the pilot). Due to their specially designed tunnel hulls, Formula 2 boats are able to turn almost instantaneously incurring more G forces than any other racing machine on the planet. Starting 2008 all boats racing at international venues are equipped with safety crash boxes. The only difference between the boats in Formula 2 and Formula 1 is the power of engine – in F1 boats are equipped with engines generating up to 400 HP and capable of reached speeds of 240 km/h.

Leave a Reply